Thankful

Yesterday we lost a member of our community in a tragic car accident. On his way to work went off the road and hit a tree. I didn’t know him but I knew of him. His wife works at Noah’s school. His nephew is in the same grade as Kayla. His children played hockey and he has coached several teams. I have not been able to stop thinking about him all day. It was a day like any other for them. Getting the kids off to school, probably thinking about the day ahead and going to work. I wonder what happened? Was he reaching for a CD? Checking his Blackberry? Swerving to miss an animal in the road? I don’t know if we’ll ever know. I can’t help but be taken aback by the reality that it can be over that quickly. Everything they knew as a family has been changed without warning. I wonder if he kissed his wife and kids good bye that morning. I wonder if everyone was so caught up in the business of life that they forgot to take the time to say “I love you”.

It is so easy to get consumed by the little things in life that we forget that they are just that: little things. The desire for a bigger house or better car. Worrying about that 10 (or 20 or 50) pounds that you want to lose. Getting irritated with the person who has 12 items in the lane that clearly says “10 Items or Less”. Honking at the car on the road that is going slower than you would like. Being frustrated by the neighbor’s barking dogs. Scolding your children for being too loud or too messy or too anything.

I am humbled by all that I have been given. A couple of days ago I said to someone how thankful I am that Bruce has a job in this economy. I have changed my mind. I am thankful for Bruce, with or without a job. I am thankful for my children–no matter what day it is. I am thankful that we have a house in which to live, two cars that run, and that we don’t worry about putting food on the table. I am thankful that my marriage is stable and my children are happy. I am thankful for this day and all that it represents.
I am thankful for the sunrise:

The sunset

The moon

And the sun

Because each time I see one of them I am reminded that I have been given the gift of another day here with my loved ones.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Thankful

  1. Leanne

    I’m so sorry for the loss in your community 😦 I remember having very similar questions when my husband’s BFF was in a similar accident. I admire the way you are turning this situation into a positive reflection on our everyday life!

  2. Jeannette

    So sorry for your loss. About 3pm today just in front of the neighbors a house a woman spun out and hit 2 poles and a fence. She was lucky to come away with it with minor injuries. But it’s so scary when its so close to home or some you know or know of. Thank you for the reminder.

  3. Reds

    So sorry for your loss. Thanks for reminding us how important it is to be thankful for all we have in our lives!

  4. Meaghan

    I’m sorry for your loss. There are so many emotions to struggle through. I also see each day as a gift and feel very blessed for all I have.

  5. Michelle

    I’m so sorry that your community had to suffer this loss. Your words are a great reminder of the true treasures in life. Wishing you peace.

  6. Becky Anderson

    What a wonderful post. Sorry to hear about the loss. That is always hard, but always an eye opener. Thanks for reminding us all to slow down and enjoy one day at a time! Lovely photos as well! The last is beautiful!

  7. Jess

    Oh NO… That is HORRIBLE! I am SO sorry to hear this… my heart is just breaking for his friends and family. Thanks for the reminder to be THANKFUL for each moment I have with my loved ones… it is so easy to take it for granted.

  8. Mandy

    I am so sorry for this tragedy. It really goes to show just how delicate life is…your photos are a beautiful memorial of how important this person was.

  9. Suzy

    I’m so very sorry to hear about such a tragic loss. I will say a prayer for his family. It’s been a week of losses around here to. Two teenage girls died in an accident, my cousins MIL, and my frinds Grandmother :(.. So sad and your last photo along with journaling really touches me right now to.

Leave a Reply

