Spring Break

The kids are on Spring Break this week and I let them each invite a friend to go to the bowling alley. We all had fun bowling (with bumpers, of course) and playing games in the arcade. Noah’s friend amassed quite a few prize tickets and I looked and wondered if it would make an interesting picture. I decided against taking the pictures of them at first, but then figured it might be something interesting to look back at in 10 years when they probably will not use tickets in arcades anymore. I start snapping a few shots and the manager came over to chat with me. No, he wasn’t upset that I was taking pictures, he was just being friendly. I mentioned why I decided to take the pictures and he said that the Brunswick location we were at is actually the only one in the state that still uses the tickets. I guess my instinct was a good one and I’m glad I took the shot. I can see the kids looking at this picture in years to come saying “Remember when…….”

I have to admit that I have been really enjoying documenting our everyday lives for Project 365. It has been such a relief to take pictures and not worry about settings, focus, composition. Although I am still working every day to improve my skills and adore the art of photography, I equally enjoy taking a pictures just for the sake of capturing our lives.

It was funny…I was taking pictures as they were playing air hockey and Kayla’s friend made a comment I didn’t quite catch but heard “your mom” and “camera”. Kayla said “You just get used to it after a while.”
And for anyone who wonders, Kayla is not my only child. I also have a wonderful son named Noah. He is very elusive when the camera comes out. Someday maybe I will catch him off guard and he can have a post all about him…. šŸ™‚

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Spring Break

  1. Jena Photography

    Look at all those tickets. Love the angle on the air hockey photo it’s perfect.

  2. pat

    Fun, Michelle! Those tickets made a great shot, and the moment you caught with the air hockey game is pretty neat.

  3. Rachael

    I love how these capture a day in your life! Love the perspective on the hockey shot.

  4. Sharon

    Nice captures!

  5. Margaret

    That air hockey shot is wonderful. Great angle and composition!

  6. Beth

    You are right about the tickets, they will be obsolete some day. Great idea!

  7. Jess

    What wonderful “life” shots! I love them! Great idea to photograph the tickets… I did something similar at Chuck E. Cheese a few years ago with the tokens. I’m sure someday they won’t use those anymore either.

  8. Steph

    Such fun shots. What a great memory to capture.

  9. Christy

    Love those shots; what a fun day. The expression on her face is perfect. I completely understand about an elusive son; I posted the exact same thing on my blog moments ago!

  10. Meaghan

    Great shots! Looks like a lot of fun.

  11. Suzy

    When you said the manager came over I thought “oh no not another one” LOL.. I’m glad they didn’t mind you taking a photo and I love your “life” shots to!

Leave a Reply

