Look out Pioneer Woman….

You know one of the things I really like about having older kids?  They occasionally take initiative.  

If they’re in the mood.

 And it suits their needs.

 In keeping with the whole “Spring has Sprung” thing, Kayla and a friend decided that they wanted to grill hot dogs for supper.  You know what I said?  “Go for it.  Just clean up your mess, please.”   First, they made a menu:

Then preparations began: 

 

I was fairly impressed.  All four food groups were represented.  (Yes, we count hot dogs as meat in this house.) They set the table themselves.  They cleared the table themselves.  All that was left for me was to pick lettuce off of the floor.  

I should be careful.  She might be trying to take over my job. 

As a side note, a couple of people asked about my edit on the basketball picture from yesterday.  I’ll be completely honest here, I worked on that picture in PSE for a long time.  I tried it bright, urban, saturated, desaturated, B&W, sepia….I had decided to scrap it and I went back into LR to look at some others.  As I was moving the cursor around I landed on a preset called “Matt’s 300 Look Preset” which can be found at  http://www.lightroomkillertips.com/2008/monday-presets-the-300-look/ .  It pulled it back into PSE after that and did a few more adjustments, but the base of the edit was that preset.  It rocks!!

12 Comments

Filed under Kayla

12 responses to “Look out Pioneer Woman….

  1. Pat

    Oh man–what bliss to have a meal prepared by your kids!!!

  2. They cooked, set the table and cleared the table themselves? WONDERFUL! You captured great shots.

  3. erikablunt

    So much fun! I can’t wait for my son to do all that kind of fun stuff!

  4. Look at you go with the foodshots! And I know I have said it already, but I *heart* that notebook.

  5. Lauren (MichyM)

    They’re very organized 🙂 sounds yummy!

  6. Yum…I’m coming for dinner tomorrow!

  7. Beth

    I love the one where she looks so uncertain:) Great story!

  8. Rose

    I agree with Beth- that pictures just says so much about the age and learning to cook… it’s great!!
    BTW…can i hire her to come teach a few things to my family 😉

  9. You are so lucky!! Love the menu!! 🙂

  10. I think I really like what she has going on there. I would love it if my daughters would start cooking. Boy oh boy! I need a break for a night.

  11. Yup, when I see all the cute baby photos and miss my kids being little I have to remember that they do things like this! Great shots!

  12. Diana

    that is so awesome that they did all of that all by themselves and the best part is that you didnt have to do any clean up!

Leave a Reply

