Family Game Night

Today in Target I picked up Trivial Pursuit:  Family Edition and decided tonight would be Family Game Night.  Sometimes FGN is more fun in theory than in reality.  All it takes is one of us getting upset and the whole thing is shot.  Tonight, however, was a really good night.  

We played kids vs adults and Bruce and I were getting our butts kicked in the beginning.  We finally found our groove and had the opportunity to lock in a win but I jumped the gun and lost it for us.  The name the Greeks gave the underworld is Hades, not Atlantis.  I {know} that!  I don’t know why I shouted out Atlantis.  My ears heard “underworld” but my mind thought “underwater”.  Dumb, dumb, dumb.   If we had a badge of shame I would be wearing it this week.  Maybe I’ll make that for myself.  A scarlet “L” for loser pinned to my shirt.  

We are very lucky in the fact that our kids get along the vast majority of the time.  Sure, they bicker and argue like any siblings but they also truly enjoy each other’s company and can spend hours together.  Considering they are not the same gender and  are 4 grades apart in school, I think this is pretty dang cool.   FGN was filled with moments like these: 

 

But we also had one or two moments like this

Apparently whatever answer Noah suggested didn’t seem quite right to Kayla….

Just keepin’ it real, dawg.

9 Comments

Filed under Kayla, Noah

9 responses to “Family Game Night

  1. I LOVE family game night! We haven’t done one in several weeks, I really need to get back on track with it! Love the photos, and your commentary cracked me up! 🙂

  2. onthegophoto

    These are awesome photos of the two of them interacting. FGN are always fun at our house to a little loud but fun.

  3. Lauren (MichyM)

    Love your retelling of the evening and I adore that last shot!

  4. Pat

    Cool! We had a family night every week when the kids were growing up. Some were more successful than others, but the point was to build family closeness, and it worked!

  5. What great photos! I love board games, and your daughter and I have the same glasses!

  6. Love that you took these while playing! You can see how your kids interact and the fun they have!

  7. The expressions you captured on the last photo are awesome! Thanks for sharing your family game night with us.

  8. amy

    Looks like you all had a great time, I’ll have to check out the family edition. We have the anniversary edition and it is really difficult.

    The expression in the last shot it too cute! I really like how these are all in b/w, works great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

