Remembering Why…..

I was cleaning out my hard drive tonight & came across this picture.  I have almost deleted this image a hundred times but something stopped me.  From a technical standpoint this picture is worthless:  the highlights are blown & the shadows are clipped.  The lighting is bad and the composition is for crap.  But guess what?  I don’t see any of that.  I see a perfect moment in time.

My dad has been an absolute rock star as a grandfather. He will drive two hours one way to see his grandchildren play any sport.  It doesn’t matter if they win or lose. It doesn’t matter if they are the best or worst player on the team.  It doesn’t matter how they perform.  It matters that he was there.

I wasn’t close enough to hear the conversation in this photo but I know *exactly* what was said:

“Did you have fun?”

“Yeah”

“Did you do your best?”

“Yeah”

“That’s all that matters.”

For the record, they won that game.

And my dad was a fiercely competitive high school football coach for 15+ years.

And that’s why I love my dad……..and this picture.

4 Comments

Filed under The Ones That Are Mine

4 responses to “Remembering Why…..

  1. I love it too and the words with it. My dad is that kind of grandpa too. Thank God for them!

  2. Great photo and great moment that is captures!

  3. This is a great photo! You did a great job capturing a special moment 🙂

  4. Looks like a great pic to me. It’s not always about perfect composition or lighting….sometimes it’s just about the feelings.

Leave a Reply

