Our Own Personal Marley

Today we put our dog down.

We’ve known it was coming for a while.  In November the vet told us it was a matter of weeks.

Fast forward to mid-April and his body finally gave out and he was unable to stand on his own.

I could tell you that he was the best dog in the world but that wouldn’t be truthful.

He was quirky and skittish.

When he was a puppy he chewed a hole in the wall of our rental apartment.

He nipped at my kids numerous times & he was impatient with all children (we would lock him up when people came over).

He barked too much and literally stole food from our hands.

I kicked him out of our home twice as a puppy because I couldn’t handle his idiosyncrasies but I always took him back because he was a part of our family and I couldn’t imagine life without him.

In contrast:

He loved us unconditionally.

He protected us fiercely.

He was the smartest dog I have ever encountered.

When we moved into our current home he instinctively knew where the property lines were and never did his business outside of those lines.

He knew that when I put lip gloss on it meant that I was leaving the house and he would bark incessantly .

He was somehow able to distinguish between when I was gone for everyday errands and when I left for uncommon reasons.  He was in a panic when I returned, thinking I might never come home again.

When I miscarried several years ago he laid at my feet for hours while I wept, occasionally putting his face in my lap to remind me that I still had him.

He was my Marley and I was his Jennifer Aniston. (Well, if Jennifer was a 5’5″ overweight brunette with a big nose and and a pension for biting sarcasm. 🙂  )

You will be missed, Cy, and I’m pretty certain that doggie heaven has an endless buffet of pizza and bread just for you.

2 Comments

Filed under The Random Ones

2 responses to “Our Own Personal Marley

  1. Lisa L

    Awww. I’m so sorry for your loss. I just watched Marley and Me yesterday and it reminded me so much of my sweet Xoey that I had put down almost 3 years ago. I had 16 years of crazy doghood with her. She was my only “kid”. Cy was beautiful and I’m sure hes having a great time over the Rainbow Bridge!

  2. I know this is a couple months late, but you have my sympathies. We put our dog down 2 years ago and she really WAS the greatest dog ever. It still hurts. I still get teary looking at her pictures.

Leave a Reply

